Washington DC is not Washington

Someone on my FB feed is posting updates about his trip to the US of A under the IVLP program. The same exchange program I went a month or 2 back but with a different focus. Makes me green with envy, because I think I missed the US! I missed the people (I think the Americans are friendlier than the Brits, but that’s just me), I missed the weather, I missed the scenery, and their love of history. Not so much the food though. I missed walking about in the different towns and cities. I should really write about what I learned before I started to forget. Soon, soon…

For now I’ll post some of the shots I took in Washington DC. I’ll share photos of other cities in other posts. I remember feeling confused when I was planning for the trip and looking at the US map thinking, why is Washington DC in 2 places? East and West. Then, ohhhh… *slaps head*

The White House. The fine looking Canadian President J.T. a.k.a Justin Trudell was in the house. Hence Canadian flags were everywhere too.

IMG_20160313_102439

The US Supreme Court (so majestic eh).

IMG_20160317_161025

Washington Monument (breathtaking view at dusk!)

IMG_20160315_193932

 

World War II Memorial (they are big on war memorials here).IMG_20160315_202753IMG_20160315_202600

 

Lincoln Memorial Reflecting Pool at night (makes me think of that end scene in Forest Gump).IMG_20160315_205243

We were in DC for a week but packed schedule didn’t allow us to do much exploring. If I had few extra free days, I would have definitely explored ALL the Smithsonian museums there, and checked out other memorials too.

It was only sometime after I got back that I remembered that I have a friend working in DC, and I had completely forgotten to check in to see if we could catch up. Haihhh!

Thanks for the memories, DC.

Leave a Reply

